‘Historymakers’ Announced at Arizona Statehood Celebration

Posted By on February 15, 2018
Arizona’s six 2019 “Historymakers” were revealed at an Arizona Statehood Day celebration at the Arizona Heritage Center at Papago Park earlier this month. 
The honorees include Betsey Bayless, Dr. Arthur DeCabooter, Michael J. Fox, Alfredo Gutierrez, Merrill Mahaffey and Vernon D. Swaback. Historymakers are recognized for their lasting contributions to society in diverse areas including education, architecture and the arts. 
“It’s a tremendous honor to name this year’s Historymakers and give them the recognition they deserve for their accomplishments, contributions, service and leadership,” said Diana Smith, the Historymakers recognition chairman. “Our 2019 recipients are highly diverse, and yet they share a common thread – they’re all dedicated to making substantial, positive impacts on the state and their surrounding communities.”
The event included a special presentation by Marshall Trimble, Arizona’s official state historian, and Dolan Ellis, Arizona’s official state balladeer. 
The Historymakers will be honored with biographies, portraits, oral histories, photos and other memorabilia to be archived and exhibited at the Arizona Heritage Center.
Past honorees include Sandra Day O’Connor, Bill Keane, Eddie Basha, Senator Jon Kyl and Dr. Robert Spetzler. 
The annual “Historymakers” Gala will take place on February 23, 2019.
  • Vernon D. Swaback
  • Michael J. Fox
  • Merrill Mahaffey
  • Dr. Arthur DeCabooter
  • Betsey Bayless
  • Alfredo Gutierrez
Jamie Killin

About Jamie Killin

Jamie Killin is the web editor for Frontdoors Media. She also is a freelance journalist who has been published in Thrillist, Phoenix Magazine, So Scottsdale!, The Arizona Republic and more.
Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Sign Up For The Knock — our weekly summary featuring the latest news, people and culture that connect the Valley of the Sun.
Thanks for signing up. You must confirm your email address before we can send you. Please check your email and follow the instructions.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.