Frank Lloyd Wright 150th Birthday Celebration Focuses on Sustainability, Organic Design

Posted By on November 17, 2017
Community members gathered to celebrate the 150th birthday of the award-winning architect Frank Lloyd Wright at a sold-out event hosted by the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation at Taliesin West on November 4.
The event began with a reception featuring live music by strings group, Urban Electra, hors d’oeuvres and cocktails. Guests were also invited to explore three of Frank Lloyd Wright’s personal living spaces where he stayed on property for several years.
The celebration continued with a dinner in the garden square by celebrated Chef Charles Wiley, who currently serves as the executive chef at Mountain Shadows resort.
During the meal, guests were welcomed by the foundation’s board of trustees chair Maja Wessels and enjoyed several speakers including the young Benjamin Ledesma, a 2017 Art and Architecture camper, and Lorraine Etchell, a master’s candidate at the School of Architecture at Taliesin.
Vernon D. Swaback, the youngest person to ever be invited into the Frank Lloyd Wright Legacy Fellowship, and managing partner of Swaback Partners, delivered the keynote address.
Stuart Graff, the president and CEO of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation also spoke of Wright’s legacy, and his continued influence in a time where sustainability and organic design are more important than ever before.
Photos by Terry Rishel.
  • Vernon Swaback
  • Scottsdale Mayor Jim Lane and Joanne Lane.
  • Scottsdale Councilman David Smith and Diana Smith
  • School of Architecture at Taliesin students Lorraine Etchell and Xinxuan Liu.
  • Rob Chambers and Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation President & CEO Stuart Graff.
  • Foundation Director of Preservation Fred Prozzillo and Marie-Jose Poulet.
  • Foundation Board of Trustees Vice Chair Alanna Mack and Don Murray.
  • Foundation Board of Trustees Member Timothy Radden and Lee Radden
  • Foundation Board of Trustees Member T.K. McClintock presenting the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Award to the Frank Lloyd Wright Build
  • Foundation Board of Trustees Member Christopher Thompson and Diana Smith.
  • Foundation Board of Trustees Member Anne Stupp.
  • Foundation Board of Trustees Chair Maja Wessels and Foundation Board of Stewards Member Charles Covington.
  • Erin Goodman and Foundation Director of Marketing and Communication Jeff Goodman.
Jamie Killin

About Jamie Killin

Jamie Killin is the web editor for Frontdoors Media. She also is a freelance journalist who has been published in Thrillist, Phoenix Magazine, So Scottsdale!, The Arizona Republic and more.
Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Sign Up For The Knock — our weekly summary featuring the latest news, people and culture that connect the Valley of the Sun.
Thanks for signing up. You must confirm your email address before we can send you. Please check your email and follow the instructions.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.